The CRUK Scotland Centre is led jointly by Prof Owen Sansom (Scientific Director) and Prof Charlie Gourley (Clinical Director). Working very closely with the senior management team, formed by Prof Chris Halsey, Prof Gareth Inman, Prof Neil Carragher, Prof Liz Patton, Prof Steve Pollard, Denise Calder and Dr Jackie Beesley (Centre Manager), they oversee the day-to-day management and operation of the Centre.


Each theme is led by at least two scientific and/or clinical academic lead investigators, drawn from the teams in Edinburgh and Glasgow.


Colorectal Cancer

Prof Malcom Dunlop, Professor of Coloproctology, Consultant Colorectal Surgeon, University of Edinburgh and Western General Hospital
Prof Joanne Edwards, Professor of Translational Cancer Pathology, University of Glasgow


Hepatobiliary Cancer

Dr Tom Bird, Honorary Consultant Hepatologist, University of Edinburgh, CRUK Scotland Institute and Royal Infirmary Edinburgh
Dr Luke Boulter, Chancellor's Fellow and Principal Investigator, Institute of Genetics and Cancer, University of Edinburgh
Dr Chiara Braconi, Honorary Consultant, Reader, University of Glasgow and Beatson West of Scotland Cancer Centre


Pancreatic Cancer

Prof David Chang, Professor of Surgical Oncology, Honorary Consultant Pancreatic Surgeon, University of Glasgow and Glasgow Royal Infirmary
Prof Jen Morton, Senior Staff Scientist, University of Glasgow and Cancer Research UK Scotland Institute
Dr Alan Serrels, Reader/Research Fellow, Centre for Inflammation Research, University of Edinburgh



Prof Kevin Blyth, Professor of Respiratory Medicine, Honorary Consultant in Respiratory Medicine, University of Glasgow and Queen Elizabeth Hospital
Prof Kev Dhaliwal, Professor Molecular Imaging & Healthcare Technology, Consultant Physician, University of Edinburgh
Prof Daniel Murphy, Professor of Lung Cancer & Mesothelioma, University of Glasgow


Brain Tumours

Prof Anthony Chalmers, Chair of Clinical Oncology, University of Glasgow and Beatson West of Scotland Cancer Centre
Prof Margaret Frame, Professor of Cancer Research, Institute of Genetics and Cancer, University of Edinburgh
Prof Steve Pollard, Group Leader, Centre For Regenerative Medicine, University of Edinburgh


Gynaecological Cancer

Prof Charlie Gourley, Chair of Medical Oncology, Honorary Consultant in Medical Oncology, Institute of Genetics and Cancer, University of Edinburgh
Dr Patricia Roxburgh, Clinical Senior Lecturer, University of Glasgow


Data Theme

Dr Peter Hall, Reader in Cancer Informatics and Health Economics, Edinburgh Clinical Trials, University of Edinburgh
Prof Crispin Miller, Senior Group Leader, Cancer Research UK Scotland Institute, University of Glasgow
Dr David Morrison, Honorary Clinical Associate Professor, School of Health & Wellbeing, University of Glasgow


Overall governance and responsibility reside with the Governance Board, overseen by the chair, Prof John Iredale and the deputy chair, Prof Moira Whyte.